You can block a friend in Friends Settings page.
If the members have been blocked, you will not receive messages from them and cannot send them friends requests.
1) Swipe the friend to the left to change in your contacts
2) Tap [✎]
3) Tap Block friends
4) Tap OK button when a confirmation alert appears.